Bushfire accreditation survey - Level 1 BAL Assessor Training Course

Closed 25 Sep 2015

Opened 16 Jan 2015



As a first stage, the Western Australian Bushfire Accreditation Framework will provide for the training and accreditation of people as Level 1 Bushfire Attack Level (BAL) Assessors. They will be trained and accredited to:

  • determine the appropriate BAL using Method 1 (simplified method) of Australian Standard AS 3959 as referenced in the Building Code of Australia (BCA) and
  •  provide general advice on the design construction requirements of AS 3959 as referenced in the BCA.


Completion of the course will be part of the requirements to becoming an Accredited Level 1 BAL Assessor. It is planned that the training course will be offered by private registered training organisations and open to people of different professions and backgrounds.The course will be delivered by registered training organisations but not be part of the current VET system.

The aims of this initiative to establish Level 1 BAL Assessors in Western Australia (alongside eventually Level 2 Bushfire Planning Practitioners and Level 3 Bushfire Planning and Design Practitioners) include:

  • enabling effective, professional and consistent advice for land-use planning and building design processes;
  • improving bushfire risk management measures being applied to land uses and development; and
  • providing individuals with professional standing and expertise to provide BALs.



Why your views matter

This e-survey has been developed to assist with the development and planning of Level 1 BAL Assessors’ training courses. Information is being sought on the professions of people interested in taking the course and views on its price range and where it should be delivered. Information is also sought on whether there is interest in a short course to obtain an overview of BALs, which may be of interest to people, such as building surveyors, architects and building designers, who may need this information for their work. 

What happens next

Comments provided will be reviewed and help shape the course development.


  • Gascoyne Region
  • Goldfields-Esperance Region
  • Great South Region
  • Kimberley Region
  • Metropolitan Central
  • Metropolitan North East
  • Metropolitan North West
  • Metropolitan South East
  • Metropolitan South West
  • Mid West Region
  • Peel Region
  • Pilbara Region
  • South West Region
  • Wheatbelt Region


  • Anyone from any background


  • Planning Reform